Atomic swaps with Monero [XMR]

I’m afraid I’m not a coder and I have no idea how complicated it is, but what are the chances the atomic swaps between BTC and XMR could be added to sovryn platform?

There’s no sovereignty without privacy. I imagine there would be huge interest in providing liquidity in BTC/XMR pair, so chance for passive income.

what do you think about this idea? Assuming it’s doable, do you think it would benefit the platform?
@yago

4 Likes

Not a coder, just a normal user of the platform. I do love this idea! I often feel that privacy is going to be the next big thing for BTC to tackle… incorporating XMR could be a good way to do it :slight_smile:

2 Likes

There are a couple of different ways XMR could be integrated:

1. Enable users to deposit XMR and it will be converted to RBTC for use on the RSK blockchain
  2. Enable users to deposit XMR and it will be bridged onto RSK as an ERC-20 token (similar to how the bridges to Ethereum and Binance Smart Chain work with ETH and BNB, respectively)

In both cases users get some privacy in terms of it not being possible to tell where their deposit originated from (Monero blockchain protects their privacy to a degree). But once their funds are on RSK they lose almost all privacy (normal pseudonymous privacy model with transparent, public blockchain).

What we could do to add even more privacy is add a concept of a “shielded account”. This shielded account would be generally useful for all of a user’s RSK activity, not only Sovryn. All funds held in the shielded account are fully encrypted: no one watching the blockchain can tell what a user’s shielded account balance is, what assets they hold, or what transactions they have sent to/received from other shielded accounts. Users can deposit RBTC and other RSK assets into the shielded account and then make transactions depositing to or withdrawing from various contracts on RSK (including Sovryn).